Golf Rules

Questions on the Rules of Golf:

There are 3 questions below. On Sunday 5th April, answers will be posted. Don’t google the answers or look them up in the R & A Rule book:

Question 1                                 

The stroke includes the backward movement of the club.

  • A – False
  • B – True

Correct answer A

Explanation:

See the definition of Stroke.

Question 2

A player drops a ball in the right way in the relief area when taking a drop under a Rule. The ball hits the ground first but then accidentally hits her foot before coming to rest in the relief area. The player must drop the ball again.

  • A- False
  • B– True

Correct answer A

Explanation:

A player has completed taking relief when a ball dropped in the right way comes to rest in the relief area. It does not matter whether the ball, after hitting the ground, touches any person, equipment or other outside influence before coming to rest. If the ball comes to rest in the relief area, the relief procedure is complete and the ball must be played as it lies.

Question 3

In match play, a player, whose ball lies in a bunker, casually leans on his club in the bunker while waiting for his opponent to play. What is the ruling?

  • A- There is no penalty.
  • B- The player loses the hole.
  • C- The player gets one penalty stroke.

Correct answer A

Explanation:

As per Rule 12.2b(2), there is no penalty for a player casually leaning on his club in a bunker providing it is not for the purpose of testing the condition of the sand, or as otherwise prohibited by Rule 12.2b(1).

 

Next 3 questions:

Question 4

A player is asked to lift his ball which lies just off the putting green as it is on his opponents line of play. She is allowed to clean the ball without penalty.

  • A- True
  • B- False

Correct answer B

Explanation:

When a ball is lifted from a part of the course other than a putting green because it interferes with play, cleaning is not allowed (Rule 14.1c).

 

Question 5

A boundary stake is an obstruction.

  • A- True
  • B- False

Correct answer B

Explanation:

See the definition of Obstruction. “ Any artificial object except for integral objects  & boundary objects.”

 

Question 6

A player can render his ball lost by declaration, i.e. by simply saying, “That ball is lost.”

  • A- False
  • B- True

Correct answer A

Explanation:

A player may not make a ball lost by a declaration. A ball is lost only when it has not been found within three minutes after the player or his or her caddie or partner begins to search for it. See Interpretation Lost/1.

Question 7

In foursomes match play, a player whose turn it is to play plays first from the tee

then his partner plays from the tee as though it is a four-ball event. What is the

ruling?

A – The side loses the hole.

B – There is no penalty.

C – The side has proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance, and the

second ball played from the tee is now in play.

Correct answer C

Explanation:

Effectively the side has proceeded under stroke and distance (Rule 18.1).

Question  8

A player plays his second shot, searches for his ball briefly and then goes back and drops another ball under penalty of stroke and distance. His original ball is then found within three minutes of when he originally starting searching for it, and before he played the dropped ball. What is the ruling?

A – The player may choose whether to continue with the original ball or the dropped ball.

B – The player must continue with the original ball.

C – The player must continue with the dropped ball.

Correct answer C

Explanation:

Once the player put another ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance, the original ball is no longer in play and must not be played (Rule 18.1).

 

Question 9

A player’s ball in the rough lies in the loose material caused by a rabbit digging a hole. The player is entitled to free relief.

  • A- False
  • B- True

Correct answer B

Explanation:

A hole made by an animal is an abnormal course condition. Free relief from an abnormal course condition is available in the general area.

 

This is the 9 hole competition for the coming week. Give yourself 3 points for a correct answer.

Remember as golf is a game of honour- don’t cheat!

You can return your card to Seamus at seamusacarew@live.ie

More details are available if you google R & A Rules. If you do this, Seamus will be delighted with you!

We will post other Q & A on Golf Rules if there is adequate interest..

Scroll to top